Pantry meal: ham is a mom’s best friend. 

Pantry meal: ham is a mom’s best friend. 

Lets just first acknowledge that my food pictures are never going to look as good as the perfect moms with their clean stoves and their lack of wine in the background.

I am not perfect. I don’t have time to grocery shop every day, I usually forget ingredients when I plan the week’s meals, and more often than not I’m trying to cut corners to save money.

So at least once a week I make a pantry meal. The intention behind a pantry meal is that in an effort to save time and money, you find random ingredients in your kitchen and combine them to make a meal.

Or as mr. F tells me “you love to just throw stuff into a bowl.”   And while there are some misses, usually he loves the end product, and that says a lot considering how picky he is.

Anyway, this week I made a 7 pound honey ham. And it was delicious. And by made I mean it was precooked so I mixed the glaze and warned it all up in the oven. I made the ham into a meal as I always do, but the best part is that it provided meat for sandwiches for the week

Well scratch that the best part was then at the end of the week I use the remaining meat to make a pantry meal turned out to be one of the best I’ve made yet.

Pantry meals allow you to improvise so you never have to run to the store and spend extra money!!!


I boiled 2 cans of chicken broth and one can of cream of mushroom soup in a medium sized skillet. 

Once boiled I stirred in 3 cups of white rice and removed from heat. 


 

I usually season to taste, but I mixed In a little oniom powder, about 1cup of Colby jack shredded cheese, about 1/3 a cup of grated parmesean cheese, and a dash of season salt. 

Then I put in about a cup and a half of chopped ham! 

  

 I put the whole mixture into a casserole dish and sprinkled Colby jack on top to cover. 

Placed the whole thing in the over for about 20 minutes at 400 degrees. 

 

And voila! It was delicious, so easy, and helped us to eat off of our ham FOR DAYS. 

that’s how you save money. 

2 thoughts on “Pantry meal: ham is a mom’s best friend. 

Leave a Reply

