We dance hard, often, but not well

We dance hard, often, but not well

  
Thanks to a new blog buddy over at “Pieces and Parts” for helping spark the inspiration for this post.

I like to consider myself somewhat of a free spirit.  Well, that’s one side to me at least.  I definitely stress more than the average bear, and spend a lot of time balancing check books and crying over things that will probably never matter. 

But this other side to me loves to sing at the top of my lungs, run around, jump up and down, and most of all dance like no one is watching.  We were in North Carolina a few weeks ago and I can’t tell you how much time I spent by the pool just dancing.  Dancing to the 70s music my mom picked, the hip hop my brother chose, and the country that my boyfriend tended to lean towards. At a few points I even danced by the ocean just to the sound of the waves and the feel of the wind.

Some may think I sound crazy, or over eccentric maybe.  I think I just love music, feeling free, and embracing my surroundings.  Whatever you’re personal opinion, the one thing you can’t deny is that its good for my daughter.

I know that it is good for Sweet P every single time a commercial jingle comes on.  She stops what she is doing, sits straight up, and begins turning her head back and forth vigorously with the most fantastic smile I’ve ever seen.  She starts moving her hands in the strangest motions, and when the music ends its as if a spell has been broken, she is instantly back to whatever she was previously doing.

It is beautiful.  Its like the music just takes over her body, she lives in that moment.

When we watch Dancing With The Stars she has the same reaction, often times adding a bounce that takes over her entire body.  She loves music.  She loves it more than any toy she owns.

And she loves dancing with me.  When I clean the house I turn the bluetooth speaker on and she is more often than not entertained, and when I come to a point in my chores where I have clean hands and a spare few moments, I scoop her up and we dance.  We dance as if we were ballroom finalists.  And she is as happy as if it were Christmas morning.

If I could have picked just one thing before she was born, just one piece of me for her to carry with her in her heart, it would be my love of music.  Well, she got it.

And so, we may not dance well and we may never make it a regular public occurence, but we dance hard and we dance often.  And it makes a world of difference in our hearts, because we don’t care what people think.

I am someone’s mother and I will dance in any way I please.  I will dance for Mr. F, I will dance with my friends at a wedding, and I will slow dance with our girls to the songs that mean the most to us, because those are the moments that they will always remember. 

Leave a Reply

