I Dropped My Iphone In The Toilet

I Dropped My Iphone In The Toilet

I’m obviously not very good at burying the lead.  There’s the spoiler right there in the title!

I warned you that I was a wreck, but I told you I would share that side of myself with you too, not just the domestic put together side.  My family and friends know just how destructive I can be, so I figured I might as well share witht he rest of my readers.

I was getting ready to leave for work yesterday.  As I was getting into my car Mr. F was standing next to my driver’s side door saying goodbye.  He looked at me and said, “I’m ordering you a phone case tonight.”  To which I responded, “No, we don’t have the money right now.  I promise I’ll be super careful.”  He continued on by telling me how destructive and clumsy I am.  I shrugged it off.

You see, I honestly have never been one to care about the “top of the line” phones.  If I could call, text, and take pictures, I was happy.  I only half-jokingly always ask Mr. F if I can just get a flip phone because some of these smart phones seem just so complicated and unnecessary.

Well long story short I jumped on the iphone bandwagon about a year and a half ago and enjoyed it much more than I had anticipated I would.  So when it started to fail on me last week I was pretty upset.  Mostly because I thrive on social interaction and we don’t have a house phone.  We went to the store, dealt with a lot of bull from ATT and ultimately switched to Sprint (you’re welcome for the positive plug Spring), and I got the much sought after Iphone 6s in rose gold.

I love it! The camera is so much better, the screen is bigger, and I honestly just love a good change no matter what kind it is.

Anyway, back to the story… I left for work and when I got there I went in to use the restroom like I always do ebfore I start my shift.  Before I even had a chance to pee (thank goodness) I heard a “plop,” and realized my brand new phone had been submerged in water.

I panicked, I hurried to pick it up and dry it off.  I immediately turned it off to hopefully avoid a battery surge that could ultimately occur when using a water logged phone.  I placed it in front of a small fan for SIX HOURS.  I went SIX HOURS without my phone.  The entire time I was panicking and telling anyone who would listen about the ironic events that had transpired.

The irony of course being that RIGHT before I left for work Mr. F had STRESSED that I would likely break my phone and I had PROMISED to be soooo careful.  The irony was furthered by the fact that I had never gotten a top of the line phone until now, and here I was, sitting next to a phone that I was rotating in front of a fan.  I wasn’t so much panicked because I was attached to my phone, but more because I couldn’t afford to buy a new one.

When I called Mr. F he thought I was joking.  Like he seriously thought I was pulling his leg.  and then I heard, “Seriously Madi?!”

Luckily when I turned my phone on 6 hours later it worked and all was well.  What a relief.  But you should have seen me during those hours.  I am clearly not as put together as people seem to think.  And I clearly am as destructive as they tell me I am..

Thank you Apple for creating a phone that can even withstand me.

Leave a Reply

